Druzgala-Mason win state 2-man title

May 11, 1991|By John W. Stewart | John W. Stewart,Sun Staff Correspondent

HAGERSTOWN -- Adrian Druzgala and Gary Mason combined for four birdies and a bogey in posting 33-3669 to win the 17th annual two-man team championship of the Maryland State Golf Association yesterday.

The 3-under-par round over the demanding 6,878-yard Beaver Creek Country Club course gave the Hobbit's Glen pairing a two-stroke margin on the rest of the 71-team field.

It seemed fitting that Druzgala, who has made of career of runner-up finishes, including second with Mason in this event last year, provided the spark. The Washington heating contractor birdied the first two holes from 15 feet, and the fifth.

Mason, the 1989 state amateur champion and a computer scientist in Rockville, tapped in a birdie from an inch at the sixth to get the team to minus-4, and both missed the green at the seventh and made bogey. Eleven straight pars followed, as "we put it on cruise," according to Mason.

NOTES: Bill Murphy-Ron Rhodes of Congressional CC survived a four-way playoff to win the runner-up silver after the teams had tied at 71. Included was the Sparrows Point entry of Jim Pelisek-Frank Neff, 34-37, which was minus-3 before bogeying 17 and 18. . . . Charles-Chris Cantone were minus-2 going to 18, then could do no better than double bogey for 72.

The leaders:

69--Gary Mason-Adrian Druzgala, Hobbit's Glen, 33-36.

71--Bill Murphy-Ron Rhodes, Congressional, 36-35; Jay Tingle-Bill Palko, Naval Academy, 37-34; Jim Pelisek-Frank Neff, Sparrows Point, 37-34; Dave King-Ed Offterdinger, Bethesda.

72--James Young-Tim Steiner, Beaver Creek, 37-35; Chris-Charles Cantone, Cumberland, 35-37; Tim-Pat Moylan, Argyle, 37-35.

73--Marty Crawford-John Dixon, Hunt Valley, 35-38; Howard Swartz-Carol Gailey, Piney Branch, 37-36; Jimmy O'Hara-Steve Bozel, Sparrows Point, 36-37; Buddy Peoples-Jerry Iorizzo, Crofton, 38-35.

Baltimore Sun Articles
Please note the green-lined linked article text has been applied commercially without any involvement from our newsroom editors, reporters or any other editorial staff.