Unsung Heroes to be honored tonight

May 03, 1991

University of Maryland athletic director Andy Geiger will be the guest speaker at the 51st McCormick Unsung Hero Awards Banquet tonight at Marriott's Hunt Valley Inn.

Ninety-eight candidates, two of whom will be honored, will represent 65 Baltimore and Baltimore County public, private and parochial schools.

McCormick scholarships worth $3,000 a year for each of four academic years will be presented to one male athlete and one female athlete.

Established in 1940 by Charles P. McCormick, the program recognizes unselfish team play and honors those who contribute substantially to the success of their teams without receiving acclaim.

The nominees are:

Archbishop Curley: Neil Strobel; Archbishop Spalding: Matthew Cremen, Jaquelyn Cordery; Arlington Baptist: Shobita Chakravarthy; Boys' Latin: Michael Mack; Calvert Hall: Eric Murray; Cardinal Gibbons: Martin Kolb; Carver: Everett Ward; Catholic: Karen Mannion; Catonsville: Nicole Hunt; Chesapeake: Derek Ruby, Fanny Marini; City: Keith Barney, La Wanda Beal; Douglass: Larry Smith, Jacquetta Charles; Dulaney: Paul Rich; Dunbar: Charles Bell, Pasha Sabree; Dundalk: Mark Smith, Denise Haller; EVT: Brian Sellers; Edmondson: Larry Smith, Karen Moore; Forest Park: Brian Randall, Nicole Simmons; Franklin: Eric Hartley, Carlee Bamonto; Friends: Pierre Camile Caramazza; Gilman: Michael Weinfeld; Hereford: Dale List Jr.; John Carroll: Michael Lanasa, Laura Nelson; Kenwood: Stephen Clay, Avia Miller.

Lake Clifton: Michael Savage, Carolyn Jefferson; Lansdowne: William Litz, Laurie McGuire; Loch Raven: Raenell Pollard, Leslie Dean; Loyola: Daniel Jasinski; Maryvale: Monica Mucha; McDonogh: Marc Litofsky, Kelly Brown; Mercy: Michele Bayne; Mervo: Scott Bell, Tarsha Blackwell; Milford Mill: Theodore Colbert, Jurea Neal; Mount de Sales: Jennifer Tirocchi; Mount St. Joseph: Brian Bennett; Northern: Bernard Dutton; Northwestern: Demetrius Johnson, Felicia Stepney; Notre Dame Prep: Anne Kelly; Oldfields: Kate Freedlander; Mount Carmel: Tiffani Reed; Pompei: Camila Wondolowski; Overlea: Dante Hall; Owings Mills: Eric Rumenap, Tara O'Neal; Park: Jessy Ashman; Parkville: Gordon Watkins, Kristen Klimko.

Patapsco: Brian Pedrick, Jennifer Hartnett; Patterson: Melvin Newsome; Perry Hall: John Sneeringer, Jennifer Harris; Pikesville: Vernon Logan, Allison Better; Poly: Jelani Rucker, Shawn Addison; Randallstown: Daniel Dorsey, Stephanie Royster; Roland Park: Monique Pitts; Seton Keough: Kelly Hines; Severn: Brendan Haggerty, Suzanne Weinberg; Southern: Maurice Griffin, Octavia Foster; Southwestern: David Turner, Norma Ragin; Sparrows Point: Roberts Gavel, Nancy York; St. Mary's: Charlie Finamore, Heather Greenlee; St. Paul's: Ian Faria; St. Paul's School for Girls: Laura Slingluff; St. Timothy's: Annie Keeble; Towson: William Seidl, Emily O'Connor; Walbrook: Eugene Banks, Shansherett Wilson; Western: Afriqiyah Woods;

Woodlawn: Cornelius Lewis, Kim Davis.

Baltimore Sun Articles
Please note the green-lined linked article text has been applied commercially without any involvement from our newsroom editors, reporters or any other editorial staff.