Michel Co., a distributor of air conditioning...

R. E.

April 22, 1991

R. E. Michel Co., a distributor of air conditioning, heating and refrigeration equipment and supplies, relocated the Hagerstown branch to 915 South Burhans Blvd. in the Hagerstown Industrial Park.

David N. Pessin, a partner in the Towson law offices of Michael C. Hodes, is hosting a radio talk show called "Senior Subjects" on WCBM-AM, Sundays from 6 p.m. to 8 p.m.

Beneficial Plus Realty Inc., a Baltimore-based real estate firm, completed the first stage of an expansion with the opening of a 6,000-square-foot office at 7004-6 Golden Ring Road in Rosedale.


WCAO/WXYV Radio in Baltimore won a community service award from the National Association of Broadcasters for its literacy program.

Barranca-Offutt, a Frederick-based advertising agency, won 10 awards from the Frederick County Advertising Federation.

Sears, Roebuck & Co. named Joseph Bova, Derek May and Christopher Schaefer as Baltimore sales consultants of the year and Edgar Garvey of Bowie as top sales manager in the nation. It also named Fred Hamm of Fred R. Hamm Contractors as top installer in the Baltimore region.

Kim Laxton was named March Employee of the Month at Fox 45/WBFF-TV in Baltimore. Ms. Laxton is account representative for the local sales department.

Elizabeth A. Mathias was named to the State Committee of Practitioners for Career and Technology Education by the Maryland State Board of Education. Ms. Mathias is dean of career and technical education at Anne Arundel Community College.

Choice Hotels International in Silver Spring won an Optimas Award from Personnel Journal for human resources management in its Sleep Inn hotels. The hotel chain was also named top franchiser in the hotel industry by Entrepreneur magazine.

Admiral Envelope & Printing Co. in Baltimore named Parilee Carter Employee of the Month for February. The company also won an award in the 1991 Print Quality Competition sponsored by Printing Industries of Maryland and southeastern Pennsylvania.

Chip Weinman, president of Sportsnet Inc., received the Crystal Prism Award from the Advertising Association of Baltimore.

Chic Davis, executive director of the Advertising Association of Baltimore, won the Silver Medal Award for 1990 from the association.

Stephen Henderson, food and beverage director of the Omni Inner Harbor Hotel in Baltimore, was named Outstanding Food and Beverage Director of the Year by Beacon Hotel Corp.

WIYY, 98-Rock Radio in Baltimore, was named Rock & Roll Station of the Year for 1990 by the readers of The Gavin Report, an industry journal.

Trade organizations

National Hydropower Association elected Wayne L. Rogers president. Mr. Rogers is chief executive officer of Synergics Inc. in Annapolis.

American Concrete Institute named I. Leon Glassgold president. Mr. Glassgold is president and chief executive officer of Masonry Resurfacing and Construction Co. in Baltimore.

Building Owners and Managers Association of Metropolitan Baltimore Inc. named Craig Scheiner president. Mr. Scheiner is a principal with Manekin Corp. and head of the property and asset management department.

Maryland Thoracic Society elected the following officers: Dr. Lewis J. Rubin, president; Dr. Steven A. Schonfeld, president-elect; Dr. Eugene R. Bleecker, immediate past president; Dr. Gerald Loughlin, secretary; Dr. E. James Britt, Dr. Hannah H. Peavy, Dr. Floyd J. Malveaux, Elizabeth Wagner and Dr. Henry Yeager Jr., to the executive committee.

Society for Technical Communication presented awards for technical report writing to the following students: William Gilreath of Anne Arundel Community College, Book-Teck Kuah of the University of Maryland at College Park, Sharon Paul of Villa Julie College and Tricia Buckley of Anne Arundel Community College.

Consulting Engineers Council of Washington published a membership directory that lists mechanical, electrical, structural and civil engineering firms. The directory is free at the office or $2 by mail. The council is at 8811 Colesville Road, Silver Spring, Md. 20910.

Public service

Asthma and Allergy Foundation of America, Maryland chapter, named Darryl W. McLean and Kathleen Kwit

erovich to the board of trustees and Dr. Richard C. Lavy to the medical advisory board.

Diana M. Zinda was named to the board of trustees of Mercy Medical Center. Ms. Zinda is senior vice president of advertising and marketing for The Baltimore Sun.

RP Foundation Fighting Blindness, a Baltimore-based eye research foundation, elected to its board of trustees: Marilyn Green, Ernest W. Grendi, Alan R. Kahn, Stanley Shapiro and James C. Wheat Jr.

Frank, Bernstein, Conaway & Goldman, a law firm in Baltimore and Washington, was honored by Prologue Inc. for the free legal services the firm provided for the private, non-profit rehabilitation organization for the mentally ill.

Baltimore Sun Articles
Please note the green-lined linked article text has been applied commercially without any involvement from our newsroom editors, reporters or any other editorial staff.