Top Realtor Named

April 17, 1991

WESTMINSTER — Louis B. Scharon, a Realtor with Long & Foster in Westminster and former president of the Carroll County Association of Realtors, was named the association's Realtor of the Year Friday.

The award was given during the second annual banquet at Martin's Westminster.

A licensed Realtor for 14 years, Scharon also was an appointed member to the Board of Education 1967 to 1973. He was a county commissioner for two years in the 1980's. He belongs to St. Paul's United Methodist Church and is on the board of Carroll County General Hospital.

Upon being given the award, he credited his wife, Betty, his associates and others with his success.

The top Realtor award is basedon a ranking of points for local activity, community service and state and national real estate activities. Only six Realtors were nominated for the award, although any member of the association was eligible.

A number of other awards also were given out at the banquet:

* Dennis Buskey, of Landmark Title Co., won 1991 Affiliate of the Year.

* Carol Gaidula, of O'Conor, Piper & Flynn Realtors in Eldersburg, was honored by the Women's Council of Realtors.

* The 1991 Education Scholarship recipients were Sean Aisea of North Carroll High and Shreya Shah of Westminster High.

* Charles J. Plunkert was given the National Life Member Award from the Realtors Political Action Committee. He is with Century 21, Charles J. Plunkert Inc. of Westminster.

* RPAC also named 99 Club members: Gloria Forrester, Sylvia Gorman, Gail Hense, Bill Holman, Edwina King, Betty and Paul Meyer, Dottie Munshaur, Josie O'Neel, Susie Rippel, Chris Shipley, Rossie Swanke, Sterling Walsh.

* Life members from RPAC were honored: Joe Gorman, Larry Haines, Shirley Howes, Wayne Lockard, Jack Reedy, Bob Tabler, Dottie Wells.

* Margaret Rosenberger, of O'Conor, Piper & Flynn of Eldersburg, was given the Certified Residential Broker designation.

* Janice Kirkner, of Long & Foster of Eldersburg, won the 1991 Distinguished Sales Associate of the YEar.

* The 1990 Rookie of the Year award went to Rossie Swanke, of O'Conor, Piper & Flynn in Westminster.

* Top producers for 1990 were Paul Meyer, who was top listing and new homes agent, and Paul Steger, top sales agent. Both agents were with O'Conor, Piper & Flynn in Hampstead.

* The 1991 Community Spirit Award went to Darlene E. Lyons, of Century 21, Charles J. Plunkert Inc. of Westminster.

Baltimore Sun Articles
Please note the green-lined linked article text has been applied commercially without any involvement from our newsroom editors, reporters or any other editorial staff.