O'Neal, Ayers take AP honors

March 29, 1991

Shaquille O'Neal of Louisiana State, the nation's leading rebounder at 14.7 per game, today was named winner of the Adolph Rupp Trophy as The Associated Press college basketball player of the year.

Also, Randy Ayers, who led Ohio State to a share of the Big Ten championship in just his second season as a head coach, today was named AP's college coach of the year.

The 7-foot-1, 290-pound O'Neal was a first-team All-American after averaging 27.6 points and 5.4 blocked shots per game along with his rebounds.

UNLV teammates and All-Americans Larry Johnson and Stacey Augmon finished second and third in the voting, respectively, followed by Syracuse's Billy Owens and Ohio State's Jimmy Jackson.

Rick Pitino of Kentucky was second to Ayers in the coaching voting and was followed by Rick Majerus of Utah, Danny Nee of Nebraska and Jerry Tarkanian, UNLV.

Ayers spent six seasons as an assistant at Ohio State before becoming head coach as successor to Gary Williams, now at Maryland.

Baltimore Sun Articles
Please note the green-lined linked article text has been applied commercially without any involvement from our newsroom editors, reporters or any other editorial staff.