John Andretti notches first Indy winJohn Andretti came up...


March 18, 1991

SURFERS PARADISE, AUSTRALIA — John Andretti notches first Indy win

John Andretti came up yesterday with his first Indy-car victory by taking the inaugural Gold Coast Indy, the first CART race outside of North America.

Andretti, who turned 28 Tuesday, continued the tradition of his racing family, joining his uncle, Mario, and cousin, Michael, as winners on the Indy-car circuit.

The winner took the top spot four laps from the end when three-time series champion Rick Mears lost control and his five-second lead.

As he tried to pass the slower cars of Randy Lewis and Dean Hall, Mears drove too deep into one of the 12 turns on the quick 2.793-mile circuit, sliding to a stop at the end of a runoff area as Lewis and Hall collided behind him.

Andretti wound up beating Bobby Rahal to the finish line by 12.7 seconds, with Mears third, very nearly catching Rahal on the final lap.

1. (9) John Andretti, Indianapolis, Lola-Chevrolet, 65, $118,625, 91.950 mph. 2. (4) Bobby Rahal, Dublin, Ohio, Lola-Chevrolet, 65, $101,635. 3. (7) Rick Mears, Bakersfield, Calif., Penske-Chevrolet, 65, $80,410. 4. (10) Danny Sullivan, Aspen, Colo., Lola-Alfa Romeo, 65, $66,710. 5. (11) Scott Pruett, Dublin, Ohio, Truesports-Judd, 65, $60,360. 6. (14) Scott Brayton, Coldwater, Mich., Lola-Chevrolet,65, $54,010. 7. (16) Jeff Andretti, Nazareth, Pa., Lola-Cosworth, 65, $47,660. 8. (17) Mike Groff, Northridge, Calif., Lola-Cosworth, 64, $41,310. 9. (8) Arie Luyendyk, Netherlands, Lola-Chevrolet, 64, $34,960. 10. (12) Tony Bettenhausen, Indianapolis, 1990 Penske-Chevrolet, 62, $33,690.

11. (18) Franco Scapini, Monaco, Lola-Cosworth, 59, $22,145. 12. (22) Dean Hall, Olympic Valley, Calif., 1990 Lola-Cosworth, 58, crash, $31,785. 13. (20) Randy Lewis, Hillsborough, Calif., 1990 Lola-Cosworth, 58, crash, $31,785. 14. (1) Michael Andretti, Nazareth, Pa., Lola-Chevrolet, 47, suspension, $33,610. 15. (2) Eddie Cheever, Aspen, Colo., Lola-Chevrolet, 42, crash, $28,610. (3) Al Unser Jr., Albuquerque, N.M., Lola-Chevrolet, 41, crash, $25,435. 17. (5) Mario Andretti, Nazareth, Pa., Lola-Chevrolet, 41, crash, $23,848. 18. (25) Phil Krueger, Indianapolis, 1989 Lola-Cosworth, 32, overheating, $18,393. 19. (6) Emerson Fittipaldi, Brazil, Penske-Chevrolet, 27, drive line, $23,848. 20. (23) Mark Dismore, Greenfield, Ind., Penske PC17-Buick, 22, engine failure, $23,848.

21. (19) Hiro Matsushita, Japan, 1990 Lola-Cosworth, 13, crash, $22,260. 22. (15) Ted Prappas, Los Angeles, 1989 Lola-Judd, 8, off course, $16,805. 23. (13) Scott Goodyear, Canada, Lola-Judd, 5, engine failure, $22,260. 24. (21) Dennis Vitolo, Ft. Lauderdale, Fla., 1989 Lola-Cosworth, 3 off course, $16,805. 25. (24) Buddy Lazier, Vail, Colo., 1988 Lola-Cosworth, 1, suspension, $11,350.

NASCAR Motorcraft 500


Sterling Marlin was in the lead on the 47th lap when the Motorcraft 500 was stopped because of rain.

The Winston Cup stock-car event was rescheduled for 11 a.m. today.

Alan Kulwicki was running in second. Ken Schrader was third, followed by Ernie Irvan and Mark Martin.

The race was started under caution after morning rain. The green flag came out after six laps.

12 Hours of Sebring


Geoff Brabham, Derek Daly and Gary Brabham won the rain-marred 12 Hours of Sebring on Saturday after spinning out and falling a lap behind in the final hour.

The victory broke a team-record, five-race losing streak for Nissan.

1, Geoff Brabham, Australia, Derek Daly, Italy and Gary Brabham, Australia, Nissan NPT-90, 298 laps, 91.626 mph. 2, Chip Robinson, Oldwick, N.J., Bob Earl, Purcellville, Va. and Julian Bailey, Britain, Nissan NPT-90, 297. 3, Bob Wollek, France, Bernd Schneider, Germany and Massimo Sigala, Italy, Porsche 962C, 296. 4, John Winter, Frank Jelinski, Germany and Henri Pescarolo, France, Porsche 962C, 295. 5, Kenny Acheson, Ireland, John Nielsen, Denmark, Davy Jones, Cortland, N.Y. and Raul Boesel, Brazil, Jaguar XJR-12, 284. 6, Brian Bonner, Lynnfield, Mass., Scott Sharp, Wilton, Conn. and Jeff Kline, Malibu, Calif., Chevrolet Spice, 283. 7, Charles Morgan, Conway, Ark. and Jim Pace, Jackson, Miss., Buick Kudzu, 280 (Camel Lights Class winner). 8, Robby Gordon, Orange, Calif. and Max Jones, Long Beach, Calif., Ford Mustang, 279 (GTO Class Winner). 9, John Hotchkis, Pasadena, Calif., Jim Adams and Chris Cord, Los Angeles, Pontiac Spice, 278. 10, Gianpiero Moretti, Italy, Stanley Dickens, Britain and Helmut Mundas, Germany, Porsche 962C, 277.

Baltimore Sun Articles
Please note the green-lined linked article text has been applied commercially without any involvement from our newsroom editors, reporters or any other editorial staff.