Countians Trained To Serve Wwii Industry


January 23, 1991|By Diane Mullaly

50 Years Ago (week of Jan. 19-Jan. 25, 1941): Howard County's first defense industry training class was conducted Monday evening in the shop classroom at Elkridge High School.

Between 10 and 15 men, ranging in age from 17 to 24, had signed up for the course, conducted so that area defense industries could be supplied with trained employees.

The intensive nine-week course trained the men in woodworking, metalworking, electrical wiring, steam-fitting, auto mechanics and the operation of simple machine tools.

A second nine-week course was scheduled to follow the first. (Elkridge High School is now the Elkridge Elementary School on Old Washington Road.)

* The Long Corner 4-H Girls Club this week elected Louise Hardy as president for 1941.

Another item on the meeting's agenda was a discussion on "how to make different sewing stiches."

In addition, seven members were presented with gifts for having perfect attendance at meetings.

25 Years Ago (week of Jan. 16-Jan. 22 1966): Plans were announced this week for a Columbia Optimist Club dinner-dance to celebrate its chartering as a member of Optimist International.

Even with the new townof Columbia barely on the map, the fledgling club has already been active raising money for future presentation to area boys' projects.

* The Howard County Teachers' Association (HCTA) requested a $300 increase in the annual salary for beginning Howard County teachers.

Increases were likewise requested for all teachers, principals and supervisors.

HCTA further proposed a salary scale for certified teachers that would begin at $5,500 per year, and increase to $9,350 peryear in 15 steps. Each step represented one year of teaching experience.

Information for this column was culled from the Howard County Historical Society's Library.

Baltimore Sun Articles
Please note the green-lined linked article text has been applied commercially without any involvement from our newsroom editors, reporters or any other editorial staff.