Dozens Of Trophies For 1990 Are Awarded By Cbyra


January 16, 1991|By Nancy Noyes

The Chesapeake Bay Yacht Racing Association conducted its Region II and III awards presentation luncheon Saturday at the Gibson Island Club.

There, 1990 High Point trophy winners in dozens of Handicap, Cruising One-Design and One-Design classes picked up their awards.

Presentations also were made to perpetual trophy winners from last September's CBYRA/Annapolis Race Week, as well as the association'stop honorees in a variety of prestigious overall categories.

The 1990 Labrot Trophy is awarded to the top handicap division competitor. It is based on efficiency percentage in a ratio of boats beaten to boats competed against in all races entered, without regard to otherwise allowable throw-outs or bonus points.

That trophy went to Severna Park sailor John White for his outstanding performance with his Chance Offshore One-Design Second Chance.

The Labrot Trophy is widely considered to be CBYRA's most prestigious and important award. White's father, Harold White, earned the Labrot in 1979, also with Second Chance, which he raced in IOR C.

The boat was sold and moved toa new home in Oxford, but when it went on the market again about two years ago, the younger White reacquired her. He brought her back to White Boat Works on Gibson Island, where his father originally had finished and commissioned her, and performed an extensive refit and rehabilitation before rejoining CBYRA competition in IMS III.

White'sregular crew for the season included Fred Potts, Barbara Beigel-Vosbury, Robert and Cindy Holden, Josh Summers and Tricia Hamill. The Second Chance team aced eight of the 10 races it sailed, and placed verywell in the other two.

White also earned the Trig Bowl for best overall performance by an IMS competitor in Annapolis Race Week, as well as the Calvert Trophy for best performance of an Anne Arundel County yacht in any class in Race Week.

The SSD & G Syndicate, Labrot winners in both 1988 and 1989, with Annapolitan Charlie Scott at the helm, earned the Lady Anne Arundel Trophy, which is awarded to the best CBYRA High Point boat whose skipper lives in Anne Arundel County.

Its Schock 35 Justice's regular High Point score in PHRF-A Region III surpassed that of any other county competitor. The other members of the SSD&G Syndicate are Charlie Smith and John Danly of Easton, and Tom Gresinger of Fort Washington.

Overall champion of the Cruising One-Design Division was Catalina 27 High Point winner Bruce Johnson of Bowie, CBYRA's immediate past president, for his work with Pussycat. The One-Design Division champion was junior sailor Geoffrey Schneider of Annapolis, who earned top honors in both the El Toro and Junior Double-Handed classes.

Marti Roberts of Edgewater received theRoy Smith Memorial Trophy, CBYRA's top award for women sailors, while Annapolitan Bill Wallop was honored with the Corinthian Performance Improvement Award for most improved performance with his Alberg 30 Cannonball. Wallop placed second of 14 qualifiers in the Alberg 30 class High Point standings.

The Race Committee of the Year award for Handicap and Cruising One-Design Division events went to the Annapolis Yacht Club for its Spring Race and Fall Series. Severn Sailing Association was honored in two categories, receiving Race Committee of the Year in the One-Design division for overall race management, as well as in the USYRU/CBYRA Championships division for the J/24 East Coast Championships.

Topping the list of special trophy winners for Annapolis Race Week was Paul Awalt of Annapolis and his MORC winner Frog Legs, earning the City of Annapolis Trophy for best overall performance.

Special Race Week overall winners also included Cal 25 sailor Charlie Husar of Crownsville with Chicken Little, who earned the Race Week Crossland Trophy for best overall performance in a Cruising One-Design class, and PHRF-Nonspinnaker winner Charlie Heller of Arnold with Pistol Pete, who received the Silhouette Trophy for best overall performance in PHRF.

* Annapolis sailor Jim Brady, reigning J/24 and J/22 world champion and winner of dozens of regional, national and international regattas, including the J/24 East Coast Championships in Annapolis last October, dueled it out on the waters of Biscayne Bay off Miami, Fla., last week in a challenging contest among several top sailors to win the 14th annual J/24 Midwinter Championship.

The regatta, which was sponsored by the Coral Reef Yacht Club and J/24 Fleet 10, began with a three-race, one-throw-out qualifying series to divide the 77-boat fleet into a 40-boat Championship Fleet and a37-boat Designer Fleet, on Tuesday, Jan. 8.

Once the fleet had been divided, dual-fleet racing through a seven-race, no-throw-out series began on Wednesday, with two races each day until Saturday's single and series-ending contest.

Baltimore Sun Articles
Please note the green-lined linked article text has been applied commercially without any involvement from our newsroom editors, reporters or any other editorial staff.