Old Mill finally gets handle on St. Joe

December 17, 1990|By Lem Satterfield

What a difference a week made for Old Mill wrestling coach Mike Hampe and his squad.

After finishing twice as the runner-up to Mount St. Joseph, the two-time defending Class 3A-4A state champion Patriots edged the Gaels, 220.5-214, to win Saturday's Chesapeake High Cougar Invitational Wrestling Tournament.

The victory came only a week after Mount St. Joseph, ranked No. 2 by the Maryland State Wrestling Association, beat No. 3 Old Mill in the Annapolis Tournament. Old Mill had won the Annapolis Tournament for two straight years.

Host Chesapeake (151.5) finished a distant third.

"We came in here with only 11 kids -- one of our [starters] broke his arm and the other didn't make weight," said Hampe, whose squad had lost the last two titles to the Gaels by a combined 15 points. "This tournament has come down to the finals every year."

The Patriots got individual titles from Steve Lundstrom (103); Brent Layman (140); Brian Layman (160), Brent's younger brother; Ernie Longazel (171), and heavyweight Don Marco.

Lundstrom (8-1) and Layman (9-0) had won the Annapolis Tournament and are ranked No. 2 and No. 1, respectively, in their weights by the state wrestling association.

"Old Mill wrestled a lot better this week. You win some, you lose some. That's the way it goes," Gaels coach Paul Triplett said.

The Gaels' individual titlists were Paul Scott (112), No. 2-ranked Shane McCarthy (119), No. 6-ranked Chad Votta (135) and Kevin Neville (152). McCarthy and Neville, who each won titles at Archbishop Curley and Annapolis High in the opening weeks, remained unbeaten at 12-0.

Chesapeake's No. 1-ranked Brian Evelith (125) repeated as the titlist in his weight class with a tough overtime decision over the Gaels' previously unbeaten and No. 4-ranked John Mack.

It was a controversial match, which was tied at 4 after regulation and overtime and came down to the referee's criteria decision. Mack (11-1) originally was declared the winner via a stalling penalty, but the decision was reversed when it was determined that Evelith (5-0) had the greater number of escapes, an overuling criterion.

Meade's only champion, Luther Scott (145), decisioned Old Mill's No. 6-ranked John Bliss, 7-1, to move to 8-0 with six pins. At this point last year, Scott was a junior varsity wrestler. But he improved and completed last season by finishing fourth in Anne Arundel County and winning a regional title.

Southwestern's only titlist was Walter Reed (189), who dropped from heavyweight -- where he was ranked No. 3 -- to topple Linganore's Chris Butler, 16-8. Butler was the No. 1-ranked 189-pounder.

Brent Layman, who won the Chesapeake crown at 130 pounds last year, overcame a 2-0, first-period deficit and went into overtime to earn his 11-8 decision over Southwestern's Caldwell Veale. He used four different takedowns on Veale, who had won the Chesepeake title in 1987.

"As soon as I walked through the door and heard that Veale was here, I knew it would be a challenge," said Layman, a state tournament runner-up last year. "He really locks up on people, so I decided to attack from the angles."

Votta, who had won a 13-5 decision over Curley's Gary Mryncza, was meeting Mryncza for the third time in as many weeks. Votta had defeated Mryncza, 9-5, for the Annapolis title after an 8-6 loss to Mryncza at the Curley Invitational.


Team points: Old Mill (220.5), Mount St. Joseph (214), Chesapeake (151.5), Northern-Calvert County (135.5), Archbishop Curley (128), Eleanor Roosevelt (126), Meade (125), Frederick (119), Southwestern (102.5), Linganore (67), Severna Park (66.5), North County (64.5), South Carroll (43), Northeast (41), Walbrook (40).

Championship finals: 103 - Lundstom (OM) p. Mullaney (Nor), 5:06. 112 - Scott (MSJ) d. Dulys (OM), 7-1. 119 - McCarthy (MSJ) d. Valle (ER), 10-1. 125 - Evelith (C) d. Mack (MSJ), 3-3 reg., 1-1, OT, ref. crit. #5 (escapes). 130 - Cooper (ER) d. Dashner (AC), 5-0. 135 - Votta (MSJ) d. Mryncza (AC), 13-5. 140 - Brent Layman (OM) d. Veale (SW), 7-7, reg., 4-1, OT. 145 - Scott (M) d. Bliss (OM), 7-1. 152 - Neville (MSJ) d. Gamble (SW), 10-6. 160 - Brian Layman (OM) p. Bennett (MSJ), 2:41. 171 - Longazel (OM) d. Okoye (AC), 9-5. 189 - Reed (SW) d. Butler (L), 16-8. Hvy - Marco (OM) p. Dishman (ER), 4:26.

Consolation finals: 103 - Smiddy (MSJ) d. Wilhite (SW), 5-3. 112 - Fields (FR) p. Brown (C), 3:24. 119 - Doing (FR) by forfeit. 125 - Lignelli (Nor) d. Dodd (MD), 11-0. 130 - Horton (C) d. Raymond (FR), 13-0. 135 - Woodland (SP) d. Bokman (FR), 10-4. 140 - Simpson (Nor) by forfeit. 145 - Acquia (AC) p. McWilliams (C), 4:59. 152 - Earle (OM) d. Zimmerman (FR), 13-1. 160 - Williams (M) d. Gannon (AC), 11-6. 171 - Cree (SP) p. Harvey (M), 4:01. 189 - Kim (NC) d. Cooper (MSJ), 15-14. Hvy - Beavers (Nor) p. Spencer (C), 2:45.

Fifth place: 103 - Irvine (SC) p. Paik (NC), 3:47. 112 - Shirk (C) d. Fisher (M), 8-0. 119 - Sugden (OM) d. Chandler (W), 4-1. 125 - Kriner (ER) p. Edwards (L), 4:03. 130 - Aiosa (MSJ) p. Stewart (NC), 5:37. 135 - Sesso (Nor) d. Carroll (F), 6-5. 140 - Whittington (C) d. Becker (AC), 20-9. 145 - McBain (Nor) p. Shepke (NE), 7:42. 152 - Peacock (Nor) p. Perillo (CH), 4:31. 160 - Somers (C) d. Linton (F), 14-0. 171 - Reed (ER) by forfeit. 189 - Sellers (C) d. Katona (M), 9-8. Hvy - Ray (NC) p. Butz (M), 1:20.

Baltimore Sun Articles
Please note the green-lined linked article text has been applied commercially without any involvement from our newsroom editors, reporters or any other editorial staff.