C. Vernon Gray Elected Council Chair

December 05, 1990

The County Council unanimously elected C. Vernon Gray as chairman Monday.

It is the fourth time he has held the post, but the first since 1987.

Republican Charles Feaga was also nominated for the council chairmanship -- by fellow Republican and council newcomer Darrel Drown -- but declined.

The council then unanimously voted for Gray.

Gray's nominator, outgoing council chairwoman Shane Pendergrass, was elected chairwoman of the Zoning Board, also unanimously, although Feaga stated his reservations that he hasn't "always been pleased in the past" with Pendergrass's performance.

Pendergrass said she couldn't imagine what Feaga was referring to, having never heard any complaints during her two-year tenure as council chairwoman.

Feaga was again elected chairman of the Liquor Board, with Drown as vice chairman.

Democrat Paul Farragut was elected vice chairman of both the council and the Zoning Board.

Baltimore Sun Articles
Please note the green-lined linked article text has been applied commercially without any involvement from our newsroom editors, reporters or any other editorial staff.