Ripken fails to get Gold

December 04, 1990

Orioles shortstop Cal Ripken, who set three major league records for defensive excellence by a shortstop last season, still wasn't good enough to receive the Rawlings Gold Glove, according to the list released today. Ozzie Guillen of Toronto was the American League recipient at the position.

Major league managers and coaches pick the team.

Other winners included:


1B--Mark McGwire, Oakland; 2B--Harold Reynolds, Seattle; SS--Guillen; 3B--Kelly Gruber, Toronto; OF--Ken Griffey Jr., Seattle; Ellis Burks, Boston; Gary Pettis, Texas; C--Sandy Alomar Jr., Cleveland; P--Mike Boddicker, Boston.


1B--Andres Galarraga, Montreal; 2B--Ryne Sandberg, Chicago; 3B--Tim Wallach, Montreal; SS--Ozzie Smith, St. Louis; OF--Barry Bonds, Pittsburgh; Tony Gwynn, San Diego; Andy Von Slyke, Pittsburgh; C--Benito Santiago, San Diego; P--Greg Maddux, Chicago.

Baltimore Sun Articles
Please note the green-lined linked article text has been applied commercially without any involvement from our newsroom editors, reporters or any other editorial staff.