Chamber groups win Mayor's Music Awards

December 04, 1990|By Ernest F. Imhoff | Ernest F. Imhoff,Evening Sun Staff

Three chamber music groups from Baltimore and College Park have each won $2,000 prizes as co-winners in the third annual Mayor's Chamber Music Awards Competition.

The groups, all playing since 1989, competed with seven other duos, trios, quartets and quintets Sunday at the Friedberg Concert Hall. The winners were:

* Trio Fervore, made up of Peabody students Xak Bjerken, piano; Kyung Sun Lee, violin, and Michael Center, cello. They played works by Smetana and Brahms.

* Paragon, a College Park trio composed of two flutists, Kathleen Trahan and Mary Beth Lewandowski, and a pianist, Maribeth Gowen. They played music by Doppler, Hindemith and J.J. Quantz.

* Julien-Gould Duo, Baltimoreans Heidi J. Julien, flute, and Matthew Gould, guitar. They played music by Mario Castelnuovo-Tedesco, Giuliani and J.B. Loeillet de Gant.

A fourth group, from College Park, the Emerald Duo was a close fourth and received an honorable mention. Its two musicians, Susan Doering, violin, and Dieter Wulfhorst, cello, played pieces by Haydn, Martinu and Ravel.

The three winners will each play two recitals, one in the Baltimore Museum of Art Wednesday evening series and the other at ARTSCAPE '91. Laura Burrows, Baltimore arts patron, and the Maryland State Arts Council support the competition.

"The jurors were extremely impressed with the high quality of all the contestants," said Robert Murrow, of the Mayor's Advisory Committee on Art and Culture. "Chamber music is really taking off in this area, and the competition showed it." Clair Zamoiski List, the committee's director, and Linda Blume also helped prepare the event.

The committee sponsors the contest, as well as the Maryland Dance Residency and Commissioning Program, to give classical chamber music and dance a boost here.

The three judges were William Purvis, French horn player and member of the New York Woodwind Quartet; Miles Hoffman, violist and founder of the Library of Congress Summer Chamber Festival, and Leon Fleisher, Baltimore pianist, conductor and Peabody teacher. For 20 minutes, each group played scores of its own choosing and others requested by the jurors.

The other Maryland competitors were:

* Concordia Trio: Jennie Ritter, soprano; Patrick Rogers, clarinet and Rebecca Kooken, piano;

* Windemere Ensemble: Lisa Matricardi, violin; Julius Wirth, viola; and David Shumway, cello);

* Baltimore Clarinet Quartet: Nicholas Smart, Richard Barkley, Ruffie London and Gino Mezzapelle;

* Towson Fine Arts Quintet: Sara Landgren, flute; Ann Bilezikian, oboe; Edward Palanker, clarinet; Karen Thornton, horn, and Gene Griswold, bassoon);

* Potomac Chamber Players: Mary Beth Lewandowski, flute; Anne Ament, clarinet and Carol Aufmann, bassoon;

* Maryland Bach Aria Group: Larry E. Vote, baritone; Jeff Silberschlag, trumpet; Deborah Greitzer, bassoon; Jeanne Fryberger Vote, harpsichord, and Pamela Greitzer, cello.

Baltimore Sun Articles
Please note the green-lined linked article text has been applied commercially without any involvement from our newsroom editors, reporters or any other editorial staff.