First team offense THE SUN'S 1990 ALL-METRO FOOTBALL TEAM

December 02, 1990

Charles Anderson,

Patterson, WR

Anderson finished fourth in the area with 44 catches for 948 yards and 15 TDs. He was also the leading tackler on defense (74 total) and had five interceptions, three fumble recoveries and seven blocked passes.

Joshua Alston,

Forest Park, OL

Alston has the size (6-3, 280) and quickness to play at a major Division I school. Alston was the best blocker for a line that had one back who ran for 1,560 yards and another who gained 823 yards.

Wallace Baker,

Randallstown, OL

Baker was the tackle on the right side, the side favored by running back Larry Washington, the Offensive Player of the Year. Baker used his strong upper body to control opponents and also played defense for the Rams.

Obie Barnes Jr.,

Forest Park, RB

Barnes led the MSA A Conference in rushing and was second in the area, and was the main reason that Forest Park enjoyed its first winning season in the A Conference. The speedy senior rushed for 1,560 yards and 15 TDs despite being the focus of

every opponent's defensive efforts.

Juan Dorsey,

Glenelg, WR

Dorsey led the area in receiving with 61 catches for 880 yards and 8 TDs although his team was just 3-7. He has great anticipation and leaping ability, thanks to a better than 30-inch vertical jump. He also runs patterns well and makes good


Brian Evans,

Old Mill, OL

William Beverly ran behind Evans for many of his 963 yards and an Anne Arundel-record-tying 20 touchdowns. Evans molded himself after Old Mill graduate Andy Rosewag, now at Maryland. "We ran a lot of sprint draws to his side and Brian was also very effective on pulling out and blocking the end," said coach Pete Regala.

John Ray,

North County, QB

Ray used the Knights' run-and-shoot offense for an area-leading 2,020 passing yards, an Anne Arundel County record, and tied the county mark for TD passes with 16. "He was the right guy at the right time to run our offense. He got better every week," said coach Chuck Markiewicz.

Ernest Rhoney,

City, OL

Rhoney was the center for City. This is his second straight selection to the All-Metro first team. His ability to come off of the ball and his pass blocking skills are his strengths, but he also stood out on defense, always occupying more than one lineman.

Raphael Wall,

Wilde Lake, RB

Wall, a fast back with good moves, was the area's fourth-leading rusher during the regular season with 149 carries for 1,538 yards and 25 TDs. Along with Randallstown's Washington he is considered one of the area's two top backs. Notre Dame and Maryland are two of the schools recruiting him heavily.

Kevin Washington,

Dunbar, TE

Washington is by far the area's best tight end. He was third in the area with 45 catches for 678 yards and 4 TDs. Coach Pete Pompey says Washington has soft hands and runs excellent patterns. Washington is a good athlete who also starts for the

Poets' outstanding basketball team.

Larry Washington,

Randallstown, RB

Washington is The Sun's Offensive Player of the Year for 1990 and a first-team All-Metro pick last year. He was the area's third-leading rusher with 1,549 yards and 24 TDs during the regular-season as Randallstown reached the state finals. Street and Smith's and Super Prep rated him one of the nation's top players in preseason reports and he lived up to his billing.

Darius Waters,

Wilde Lake, OL

He was the best lineman on a line that helped produce the area's fourth-leading rusher (Raphael Wall). Coach Doug DuVall says Waters has excellent technique and was the backbone of the team.

Joe Yankle,

Atholton, PK

This is Yankle's second straight selection to the All-Metro first team. His production was down from last season but so was Atholton's offense. Still, Yankle was 4-for-4 on field goals, his longest a 40-yarder. He was 9-for-12 on extra points and averaged 54 yards on kickoffs.

Baltimore Sun Articles
Please note the green-lined linked article text has been applied commercially without any involvement from our newsroom editors, reporters or any other editorial staff.