Schaefer, Mikulski To Attend Rehrmann

December 02, 1990

Gov. William Donald Schaefer and U.S. Sen. Barbara Mikulski will be among the guests at Harford Community College tomorrow when Harford's new county executive, Eileen M. Rehrmann, is sworn in.

The ceremony, scheduled to begin at noon, will be held in the Susquehanna Center at the college.

The ceremony is open to the public and will be broadcast by cable Channel 15 live, said Susan Collins, a spokeswoman for the inaugural ceremony.

Kera O'Bryan, a student at Bel Air High School, will sing the Star Spangled Banner following the Pledge of Allegiance. The Bel Air High School Band also will perform.

The oath of office will be administered by Charles G. Hiob III, clerk of the circuit court. In addition to Rehrmann, County Council President Jeffrey D. Wilson, and the representatives of Harford's six councilmanic districts will be sworn in. They are:

* Susan B. Heselton, District A.

* Joanne S. Parrott, District B.

* Theresa M. Pierno, District C.

* Barry T. Glassman, District D.

* Robert S. Wagner, District E.

* Philip J. Barker, District F.

Sheriff-elect Robert E. Comes will be sworn in at a separate ceremony, scheduled for 4 p.m. Tuesday. Comes' inauguration ceremony will be held in the County Courthouse in Bel Air.

Rehrmann, who will be sworn in tomorrow as Harford's new county executive, has named her campaign manager, Bel Air businessman George Harrison, to head a 13-member transition team.

"We'll play an intense part for about two more weeks. We'll be looking at the budget and how it's set up, and the structure of government," Harrison said.

Although the team is looking at personnel and hiring policies, Harrison said, "We're not going in with any intent to chop heads or to start totally over with personnel."

Baltimore Sun Articles
Please note the green-lined linked article text has been applied commercially without any involvement from our newsroom editors, reporters or any other editorial staff.