S. Mississippi coach Hallman reportedly choice for LSU job


November 26, 1990

Curley Hallman of the University of Southern Mississippi will be named head football coach at LSU, possibly tomorrow, the New Orleans Times-Picayune reported yesterday.

Hallman and LSU athletic director Joe Dean apparently agreed to terms over the Thanksgiving weekend, according to the Times-Picayune.

After LSU's season-ending victory Saturday over Tulane, Dean refused to discuss his search for Mike Archer's replacement. Archer resigned Nov. 15 after four years at LSU.

But later Saturday night, Hallman said that an offer from LSU "would be hard to turn down. In my opinion, it's one of the great programs in the country. At the same time and in the same breath, we have had a lot of success here, and we're very happy at USM."

* NEBRASKA: Quarterback Mickey Joseph, injured in the first quarter of the Cornhuskers' 45-10 loss to Oklahoma on Friday, will not play against Georgia Tech in the Florida Citrus Bowl, Nebraska coach Tom Osborne said. Joseph suffered a deep gash on his calf when he slammed into the Oklahoma bench. Osborne said Saturday he doesn't know who will replace Joseph as the Citrus Bowl starter Jan. 1.

In Friday's game with the Sooners, junior Mike Grant replaced Joseph. Grant completed eight of 19 passes, but was intercepted three times.

* NOTRE DAME: "The Gipper," as played by Ronald Reagan, was on hand to inspire the Irish Saturday night. Former President Reagan, who played terminally ill football star George Gipp in the movie, "Knute Rockne, All-American," made the opening coin flip before Saturday's Notre Dame-Southern Cal game.

The No. 7 Irish went on to an inspired defensive performance in a 10-6 victory over No. 18 Southern Cal. Notre Dame limited the Trojans to two field goals to win the meeting of intersectional rivals for the eighth straight time.

Baltimore Sun Articles
Please note the green-lined linked article text has been applied commercially without any involvement from our newsroom editors, reporters or any other editorial staff.