C.M. Wright tops Dundalk on Batten's TDs, 28-6 Class 3A

November 17, 1990|By Bill Blewett | Bill Blewett,Special to The Sun

BEL AIR -- Ken Batten scored three touchdowns, as C. Milton Wright raced past Dundalk, 28-6, in the Class 3A quarterfinals last night.

Batten, a 180-pound senior, scored on runs of 1, 2 and 3 yards in leading the Mustangs to their 11th consecutive victory and their first trip to the state semifinals. He drew the workhorse role for Wright, carrying the ball 16 times for 47 yards.

Batten entered the game averaging 108 yards but was only Wright's fourth-leading rusher, as the Mustangs used a stable of quick backs to amass 306 yards rushing. Chris Gill, a sophomore, rushed for 81 yards, Israel Sostrin for 68 and Zi Shum for 51.

Sostrin set up the first score with a 25-yard -- to the 4-yard line. Gill burst over left tackle for 41 yards to the 2 on the next possession to set up the second score.

Sostrin and 275-pound tackle Daryl Smith led Wright's defensive unit. Sostrin made 12 tackles, two of them unassisted. Smith made four unassisted tackles and five assisted, as Wright extended its string of scoreless quarters to 17 before Dundalk scored with 2 minutes, 28 seconds remaining in the first half.

The Mustangs held Dundalk quarterback Joe Speed to 19 yards on eight carries and intercepted two of his passes. Speed completed five of 16 passes for 50 yards.

The Mustangs led, 14-6, at halftime after two Dundalk drives ended in fumbles inside the Mustangs 10.

Owls running back John Satterfield, a 170-pound sophomore, made big plays in those two drives, but was stymied in the second half, finishing the game with 42 yards on nine carries. He scored the lone Dundalk touchdown to pull the Owls to within eight points as the half ended.

Neither team scored during the third quarter. Wright then scored twice within a 2:15 span in the fourth quarter.

Baltimore Sun Articles
Please note the green-lined linked article text has been applied commercially without any involvement from our newsroom editors, reporters or any other editorial staff.