City Attorney Is Candidate For Judgeship

November 14, 1990|By Jay Apperson | Jay Apperson,Staff writer

Annapolis City Attorney Jonathan A. Hodgson has added his name to the list of applicants for a soon-to-be-vacant seat on the District Court bench, a state courts official said yesterday.

Sixteen attorneys had applied for the seat before the original filing deadline of Nov. 1. But that deadline was extended to 4:30 p.m. yesterday because of confusion over an advertisement that erroneously listed the final date to file as Nov. 11.

Hodgson, 39, of Annapolis, who has been city attorney for five years, was the only person who took advantage of the deadline extension, said Michael V. O'Malley, an assistant state courts administrator.

The vacancy will be created when Judge Thomas J. Curley Jr. retires in February. Curley, 67, the last of the original People's Court judges still sitting on Maryland's District Court bench, announced his retirement plans in September.

Other applicants for the $82,300-a-year job are: Richard T. Brice IV, 52, of Annapolis; Philip T. Caroom, 37, of Annapolis; Walter S. B. Childs, 45; of Annapolis; James W. "Jack" Dryden, 43, of Annapolis; and William M.

Ferris, 42, of Arnold; and Megan B. Johnson.

Also, Glenn L. Klavens, 37, of Severna Park; James D. McCarthy Jr., 52, of Severna Park; Vincent A. Mulieri, 52, of Severna Park; Charles J.

Muskin, 41, of Glen Burnie; and Pamela North, 38, of Arnold.

Also, Frederick M. Paone, 39, of Annapolis; Essom V. Ricks, 43, of Annapolis; Otho M. Thompson, 45, of Annapolis; Eugene M. Whissel II, 40, of Cape St. Claire; and Robert C. Wilcox, 47, of Davidsonville.

The county's 13-member judicial nominating commission is scheduled to interview the applicants Dec. 3 and submit its list of finalists to the governor Dec. 4. The governor will then make the appointment, subject to confirmation by the state Senate.

Baltimore Sun Articles
Please note the green-lined linked article text has been applied commercially without any involvement from our newsroom editors, reporters or any other editorial staff.