Senator Jimeno balks Republican challenger in Anne Arundel battle

November 07, 1990|By Joel McCord

State Sen. Philip C. Jimeno held off yesterday a strong challenge from John Leopold, a Republican member of the House of Delegates, in Anne Arundel County's 31st District, in one of the county's most closely contested legislative races.

With all of Anne Arundel's 133 precincts reporting, Mr. Jimeno won with 56 percent of the vote over the two-term delegate, who jumped into the Senate race after abandoning his quest to become county executive.

Meanwhile, two Republicans won seats on Anne Arundel's council to become its first GOP members in more than 20 years.

Diane Evans outdistanced civic activist Linda Gilligan in the Severna Park-based 5th District. And in the 3rd District in northeastern Anne Arundel, Carl G. Holland, who lost decisively in the 1986 election, ran away from incumbent Councilman Edward C. Ahern.

Those victories, combined with two races for open seats, will dramatically alter the makeup of the seven-member council, adding three new faces and returning an old one that has been absent for eight years. But while the majority will remain Democratic, they may have to work with a Republican county executive -- Robert R. Neall appeared to have won that race.

In the 1st District, in the northern county, George Bachman, who chaired the council for nine years before losing a race for county executive in 1982, easily beat Republican Gerald P. Starr to regain his old seat.

Ed Middlebrooks, a Democratic lawyer, won solidly over Ernest C. Michaelson, an environmental consultant, in the 2nd District in Glen Burnie.

In the 6th District, Maureen Lamb handily defeated Republican challenger Glenwood Gibbs.

And in the 7th District, in the southern and western county, incumbent Virginia P. Clagett, the council chairwoman, squeezed out a narrow victory over Republican John Klocko.

Running for three House seats in the 31st District, incumbent Democrats W. Ray Huff and Charles "Stokes" Kolodzielski ran second and third behind their ticket-mate, former school board member Joan Cadden.

In another House race, Delegates Marsha G. Perry, a Democrat, and Republicans John G. Gary and Elizabeth S. Smith, retained their 33rd District seats.

Sen. Gerald W. Winegrad, a Democrat, defeated Republican Charles Thomann in the District 30 Senate race. Incumbent Democrats Michael E. Busch and John C. Astle along with Republican challenger Aris T. Allen won the district's three House seats.

In District 29A, southern Anne Arundel County and northern Calvert County, Sen. Bernie Fowler, a Democrat, won easily. Democratic Delegate George W. Owings III won a narrow over Republican Edward B. Finch.

Baltimore Sun Articles
Please note the green-lined linked article text has been applied commercially without any involvement from our newsroom editors, reporters or any other editorial staff.