Y's Soccer League Begins Next Week


November 05, 1990

The YMCA Indoor Soccer League will begin Nov. 5 for all youngsters ages 4-6.

Meeting times are scheduled for Mondays and Wednesdays from 5 to 6 p.m.

at the Severna Park YMCA. Emphasis will be placed on basic soccer skills, teamwork and sportsmanship. Sign-ups will continue through Nov. 11 at the Severna Park Branch YMCA.

Information: 647-3800.


The second annual Turkey Trot 5K Race will be conducted at 11:30 a.m.

Nov. 20, on the campus of Anne Arundel Community College.

Entries are open in both individual and mixed doubles categories.

Runners will start and finish at the Jenkins Gymnasium. The well-marked course follows the campus perimeter.

Turkeys will go to all first-place finishers in all categories, while runners-up will win apple pies. Categories include male and female individual fastest times; combined fastest times for mixed doubles team; individual predicted times for males ans females, and combined mixed doubles times for mixed doubles teams. No watches or timepieces of any type may be worn or carried by runners.

Entries are open until 9 a.m. race day. Fees are $3 for individuals and $5 for mixed doubles. T-shirts go to the first 75 race entrants and there are no refunds.

Race packets may be picked up at the Student Services Center front desk from 8:30 a.m. until 5 p.m. Monday, Nov. 19; and from 9 to 11:30 a.m. on race day.

Information: 541-2756 or 541-2218.


Glenn Weidner of Annapolis won the Seagull 8K male and overall championship at Anna Arundel Community College recently with a time of 26 minutes and 20 seconds.

Kristen Riismandel of Columbia was the first woman to finish in a time of 35:38.00.

The annual event, sponsored by the College Alumni and Friends Association, saw Tom Hofstetter of Annapolis as the first student finisher.

Kevin Murnane, a part-time English faculty member, finished first among faculty runners, and Steven Brady of Chester was the first alumni competitor finisher.

Other male and female age group winners by age were Ryan Guard of Davidsonville, under 16; Jim Miller of Lafayette, La., and Allison Guard of Davidsonville, 17-19; J.P. Smith and Nicole Butters, both of Annapolis, 20-29; Paul Schneider of Randallstown and Jenny Spivak of Annapolis, 30-39; Dennis Nicolaus of Severna Park, 40-49; and Stan Witomski of Hanover, 50-59.


Crofton's District 33 Runners Club conducted its last races for the season this past Saturday.

The Men's Five Miler winner was Fred Pollitz of Silver Spring, while Jim Kaufman of Bowie finished runner-up. Age-class winners and runners-up among the men were:

* 20-29: James Schraf, Bowie, and Dennis Hogan, Bowie.

* 30-39: Peter Ferrigno, Crofton, and Bill Egan, Bowie.

* 40-49: Al Kubeluis, Bowie, and John Kasper, Crofton.

* 50-59: Ray Campbell, Highland.

The top three women in the order of finish were Irene Smyth, Crofton; Dotty Esher, Laurel; and Pam Selke, Crofton.

In the 2-Miler, the top finishers, in order, were Robin Sakraida, Bowie; Kathy Weber, Washington; and Judy Dubman, Crofton. Bill Burlison of Crofton finished first among the men.

Burlison, president of the club, said the Runners season would resume on the second Saturday of April 1991.

Baltimore Sun Articles
Please note the green-lined linked article text has been applied commercially without any involvement from our newsroom editors, reporters or any other editorial staff.