City legislative races

November 01, 1990

The Democratic Party's traditional dominance of city politics makes for few real contests in the general election.

There are no contested elections for state senator in Districts 39, 41, 42, 44, 46 and 47. In the District 40 Senate race, we support Democrat Ralph M. Hughes over Republican Melvin E. Stubbs. In Districts 43 and 45, we favor the two Democratic incumbents, senators John A. Pica and Nathan C. Irby.

In House of Delegates races, there are no contests in Districts 39, 40, 41, 42 and 46. In District 43, the three incumbent Democrats, Gerald J. Curran, Ann Marie Doory and Henry R. Hergenroeder Jr., should be returned for another term. In District 44, Delegates Curtis Anderson, Kenneth C. Montague Jr. and Anne Scarlett Perkins also deserve re-election, as do District 45 incumbents Clarence Davis, John Douglass and Hattie N. Harrison. In District 47, veteran delegates R. Charles Avara and Paul E. Weisengoff are joined by longtime activist Brian K. McHale, who was appointed to fill out the term of the late Joseph O'Malley. Voters should return this delegation intact as well for another term.

Baltimore Sun Articles
Please note the green-lined linked article text has been applied commercially without any involvement from our newsroom editors, reporters or any other editorial staff.