Howard's legislative races

October 29, 1990

In contests for the Maryland Senate and House of Delegates, Howard Countians enjoy an embarrassment of riches in the number of well-qualified candidates, Democratic and Republican.

In the District 13 Senate race, two-term Democratic incumbent Thomas M. Yeager faces a spirited challenge from Guy L. Harriman of Laurel, a moderate Republican who has never held public office. In our view Yeager, a member of the Senate Ethics Committee and Judicial Proceedings Committee and a key aide to Senate President Mike Miller, is the better choice.

In the House contests, we strongly endorse Del. Virginia M. Thomas in Subdistrict 13A. In Subdistrict 13B, former Laurel Mayor Robert J. DiPietro is a developer and transportation specialist who was appointed to fill out the term of Del. Susan Buswell. DiPietro's government experience and knowledge of budget matters qualify him for election. For the district's third seat, we recommend incumbent Del. William C. Bevan, a retired high school principal who is commendable on education issues.

The Senate race in District 14 pits one-term Democratic incumbent Sen. Edward J. Kasemeyer against an earnest but inexperienced Republican challenger, Christopher J. McCabe. Kasemeyer has served his district ably and merits re-election. For Subdistrict 14B House seats, we heartily endorse the Republican incumbents, Dels. Robert H. Kittleman and Robert L. Flanagan.

Baltimore Sun Articles
Please note the green-lined linked article text has been applied commercially without any involvement from our newsroom editors, reporters or any other editorial staff.