Columbus Cup skippers

October 07, 1990

Russell Couts, New Zealand: Finished second in the 1989 Columbus Cup, won by Peter Gilmour of Australia. Has been very successful in Olympic class boats, one-tonners and 12-meter class. Gold medalist in Finn class in 1984 Olympics. World youth champion in 1981. As a match racer, he won the Liberty Cup in 1989 and the Kouros Cup this year.

Makoto Namba, Japan: Finished fourth in the 1989 Columbus Cup. Captain of the Nippon Challenge America's Cup team and a top skipper in 470s, J/24s and International Offshore Rule yachts in Japan.

Valdemar Bandolowski, Denmark: Fifth in 1989 Columbus Cup. Won gold medals at 1976 and 1980 Olympics in Soling class. Won world championships in Solings (1984) and Dragons (1987).

Kin Yellott, Baltimore: Finished seventh in 1989 Columbus Cup with Team Baltimore. Since, Yellott and his team have competed extensively on the match-race circuit. United States Yacht Racing Union area skipper representing the Annapolis Yacht Club in the Prince of Wales Match Race Challenge Series in Detroit. Captain of 1972-73 Yale sailing team.

Pelle Petterson, Sweden: First appearance in the Columbus Cup. Has finished second in two World Match Race Conference events, the 1988 Liberty Cup and 1989 Baltic Match. Has been champion in the 6-meter class three times and once in the Star class. Skippered Sweden's America's Cup challenges in 1977 and 1980. Won the Coupe de France match races in 1986 and 1987.

Marcos Soares, Brazil: First appearance in Columbus Cup. Won the Laport Mach Cup, Brazil's first match-racing event. 1990 winner of the Semana de Vela American Express ocean circuit. Won a gold medal in 470 class in the 1980 Olympics.

Antonio Gorostegui, Spain: Finished sixth in Columbus Cup last year. Two-time world champion in Star class. Silver medalist in 470 class in 1984 Olympics.

Larry Klein, San Diego: First appearance as a skipper in Columbus Cup. Head of the Triumph America Foundation, an America's Cup defense syndicate. 1989 Rolex Yachtsman of the Year. Won world championships in J/24s in 1983 and 1989. Etchells class world champion in 1989. Sailed as tactician in 1989 Nippon Cup and 1989 Columbus Cup.

Baltimore Sun Articles
Please note the green-lined linked article text has been applied commercially without any involvement from our newsroom editors, reporters or any other editorial staff.