Beulah M. Sieck Was duckpin champion


September 24, 1990

Services for Beulah M. "Bea" Sieck, a former Catonsville resident and duckpin champion, will be held at 1 p.m. today at the Leroy & Russell Witzke Funeral Home, 1630 Edmondson Ave. in Catonsville.

Mrs. Sieck died Friday at Hanover General Hospital in Hanover, Pa., after long being ill with cancer. She was 65.

The daughter of Frank and Anna Massimini, she was born in Baltimore and educated in city schools. She graduated in 1943 from Forest Park High School, where she was a member of the varsity girls basketball and volleyball teams.

Following graduation, she worked for the Internal Revenue Service during World War II.

She married Louis C. Sieck Sr. in 1946, when he returned from service with the Army in Europe. The couple lived in Franklintown before moving to Catonsville in 1963.

Mrs. Sieck remained active in sports, gaining local fame for her duckpin bowling. She was the top-ranked duckpin bowler in Baltimore for several years, winning a number of tournaments and setting some world records. She also liked pitching horseshoes and was a keen fan of other sports, ranging from horse racing to college football.

She taught physical education for several years at St. Lawrence Elementary School as a volunteer. She was a communicant at St. Lawrence Roman Catholic Church on Security Boulevard.

Ill with cancer for the past nine years, Mrs. Sieck moved with her husband to Hanover 13 months ago.

She is survived by her husband; a daughter, Anna M. Hankey of Reisterstown; two sons, Louis C. Sieck Jr. of Catonsville, and Joseph Sieck of Hanover, Pa.; a sister, Mary Doran of Baltimore; two brothers, Michael and Anthony Massimini of Baltimore; three grandchildren, Christine Lutz of Towson and Tina M. Sieck and Jamie B. Sieck of Catonsville; and a great-grandchild, Alexander Cogswell of Towson.

Baltimore Sun Articles
Please note the green-lined linked article text has been applied commercially without any involvement from our newsroom editors, reporters or any other editorial staff.