CORRECTION: Facts on two Howard candidates omitted

September 10, 1990

Information about two Howard County candidates in tomorrow's primary elections was missing from the Howard County Sun's non-partisan election guide yesterday:

*In District 13, two candidates are seeking the Democratic nomination for state Senate. They are Michael McGonnigal, a Laurel lawyer whose name was inadvertently omitted, and incumbent Thomas M. Yeager of Fulton.

*The Democratic nomination for County Council from District 1 is being sought by incumbent Shane Pendergrass and William C. Smith of Elkridge. Information from Pendergrass was published, but that from Smith was inadvertently omitted.

Smith's opinion of the campaign's most important issue and how he would resolve it follows:

"Runaway growth. Pro-development growth policies have resulted in overcrowded schools, traffic congestion and spiraling property taxes. The new General Plan targets District 1 for more growth than any other county district. Protecting our neighborhoods and insuring top-quality schools are more important than rampant growth. I will introduce and fight for legislation to protect District 1, not exploit it. I will protect the people of District 1 from giant truck stops, regional garbage collection centers and polluting incinerators. My special interests are the people."

*An editing error resulted in incorrect names being shown for the Republican gubernatorial candidates in a "voter checklist" that was part of a non-partisan election guide in Sunday's editions of the Anne Arundel County Sun, the Harford County Sun and the Howard County Sun. As correctly carried in the same guides' preceding pages, the contestants are Ross Z. Pierpont and William S. Shepard.

Baltimore Sun Articles
Please note the green-lined linked article text has been applied commercially without any involvement from our newsroom editors, reporters or any other editorial staff.